Review: Go Your Crohn Way by Kathleen Nicholls

Go Your Crohn WayThe Blurb

For Kathleen Nicholls, life with Crohn’s disease has been a constant battle against her bowels. But life has also been about David Bowie, dancing, and laughter. Go Your Crohn Way follows the highs and lows of Kathleen’s experiences, and is full of useful advice for maintaining self-confidence and positivity while navigating the world of work, relationships, and those conversations.

Warm and inspiring, this book demonstrates how Crohn’s can be life-changing, but not just for the worse. Kathleen gives advice and tips on adapting and thriving through Crohn’s, including a specially created phrasebook, which proves that so long as you know how to ask for the nearest bathroom, globe-trotting is still firmly on the agenda.

Full of fun and humour, Kathleen’s journey through life with Crohn’s disease will leave you – like her – in stitches.

The Review

Tomorrow (19th May 2016) is Crohn’s and Colitis awareness day.

I know this because in 2012 I was diagnosed with Ulcerative Colitis. Before that day, I had never even heard of Ulcerative Colitis. Once I was diagnosed I was still a bit confused and it took my boyfriend (then friend) to say to me “Ulcerative Colitis…isn’t that a chronic illness? You’re going to have this for life” and it wasn’t until that point that the enormity of the diagnosis hit me.

Everyone with IBD has their own story. You can read mine here – One Year Later: A Look Back at My IBD Story

Go Your Crohn Way is Kathleen Nicholls story. As I was reading this hilarious book (and believe me snorted with laughter many a time…attractive) I found myself shocked with the similarities of someone else living with this illness to my own experiences such as my go to phrase “I’m fine” which drives the people who love me crazy because they know I am not, how I have invented a new normal e.g. what is normal for me is not normal for everyone else and, of course, competitive suffering.

However, Go Your Crohn Way is so much more than a memoir. It is a non-technical, non-scary guide.  It is perfect for the newly diagnosed and a fresh look from those who are ‘frequent flyers’ at the hospital. Having read other books to try and come to terms or get to grips with my own personal diagnosis, I have often been terrified and confused by the medical jargon that I don’t understand. I finish the books with more questions than answers. Go Your Crohn Way is different. Kathleen Nicholls has created the go-to book for the IBD sufferer and rather refreshingly for the family and friends of those who suffer.

Go Your Crohn Way needs to be on the TBR pile of everyone who has an association with IBD – the patient and the families. Go and buy a copy right now!

Go Your Crohn Way by Kathleen Nicholls is available now.

4 Stars

Leave a Reply

