Review: Moranifesto by Caitlin Moran

MoranifestoThe Blurb

‘I’ve lived through ten iOS upgrades on my Mac – and that’s just something I use to much about on Twitter. Surely capitalism is due an upgrade or two?’

When Caitlin Moran sat down to choose her favourite pieces for her new book she realised that they all seemed to join up. Turns out, it’s the same old problems and the same old ass-hats.

Then she thought of the word ‘Moranifesto’, and she knew what she had to do…

This is Caitlin’s engaging and amusing rallying call for our times. Combining the best of her recent columns with lots of new writing unique to this book, Caitlin deals with topics as pressing and diverse as 1980s swearing, benefits, boarding schools, and why the internet is like a drunken toddler.

And whilst never afraid to address the big issues of the day – such as Benedict Cumberbatch and duffel coats – Caitlin also makes a passionate effort to understand our 21st century society and presents us with her ‘Moranifesto’ for making the world a better place.

The polite revolution starts here! Please.

The Review

I firmly believe (and have done for some time) that I am a little bit in love with Caitlin Moran.

You see, I read her writings or listen to her in interviews and I think to myself “Dammit, yes Caitlin! You have expressed my thoughts far more eloquently than have now let’s go out for a pow-wow and maybe a game of air hockey.” – why the air hockey? Couldn’t say, but I do know that Caitlin and I would shoot the shit something wicked in a musty old arcade.

If I could write…or, indeed, think 3% as astutely as Caitlin Moran does then I would consider myself to be very lucky. She gets me that riled up with optimistic vibes that I almost want to befriend her and encourage her to run for president. The fact that she is British, be damned! I believe she could do it; I know she would win.

Ok, enough fangirling (don’t worry, there may be some more later). Let us look at her latest book: Moranifesto. It is a glorious collection of her articles and it really does invite you to intimately press your nose between the pages of her mellifluous mind. It is a must for avid “woMoran’s” – ok I tried to create a “Cumberbitch” tag name and it didn’t quite work out but you get what I mean – and also for the “Moranovice” < – admittedly, I am a little proud of that one.

Personally, my favourite articles included: “I Can’t Stop Listening to ‘Get Lucky’”, “Everyone Fancies Britain Right Now”, “A Woman’s Monthly Faultiness”, “My Lady Festival Advice”, “Russell T Davies – The Man Who Changed the World, Just a Little Bit”, “Why Can’t Life be More Like a Musical?”, and “All the Lists of My Life”

This is not an exhaustive list and to be fair it doesn’t do justice to just how brilliant Moranifesto is. This is a book that should be issued to teenagers who are trying to figure things out and trying to form their own opinion away from the beliefs that they have been born into. This book could have been called The Things I Wished I Had Known. Where was this book when I was growing up? is the only negative thing I have to say about Moranifesto. This previously gawky teenager could have used it. I implore everyone to pick up a copy of Moranifesto because it is a treasure trove of fantastic writing. I cannot recommend it enough…and now we have the return of the fangirl.

One final thing, Moranifesto gave me one of my proudest moments as an aunty when my one year old niece picked it up and said “book”. I thought to myself, “Yes, I will make a feminist/humanist out of you.”

Moranifesto by Caitlin Moran is available now.

Follow Caitlin Moran (@caitlinmoran) on Twitter.

5 Stars

Leave a Reply

