Review: The Princess Bride by William Goldman

The Blurb

Beautiful, flaxen-haired Buttercup has fallen for Westley, the farm boy, and when he departs to make his fortune, she vows never to love another. So when she hears that his ship has been captured by the Dread Pirate Roberts – who never leaves survivors – her heart is broken. But her charms draw the attention of the relentless Prince Humperdinck who wants a wife and will go to any lengths to have Buttercup. So starts a fairytale like no other, of fencing, fighting, torture, poison, true love, hate, revenge, giants, hunters, bad men, good men, beautifulest ladies, snakes, spiders, beasts, chases, escapes, lies, truths, passion and miracles.

The Review

I bought the book The Princess Bride in 2013. It was on offer; a daily deal on the kindle. I hadn’t heard much about it but people often mentioned it in passing so I thought I would give it a go. Then I promptly forgot about it. However, this year, those few mentions grew and grew. They mentioned it in The Big Bang Theory; it was mentioned in the date movie What If?; and finally a friend whom I have a lot in common with quoted it to me. This isn’t unusual. This friend and I have such a similar taste in movies and books that she was fully expecting me to bounce back with a similar quote. When I looked at her with a completely non-plussed expression on my face she realised that I wasn’t who she thought I was. She urged me to watch the movie.

This is all well and good but since I am a stickler for doing things the correct way round I had to read the book first. I searched the annals of my Kindle archive and found The Princess Bride. I read it and here is what I thought.

It was brilliant. It is so funny, intriguing, adventurous and just a jolly good romp. I fell in love with each of the character. I wanted Westley to come back victorious and win Buttercup’s heart all over again. I desperately wanted Inigo Montoya to avenge his father’s death. I got far too involved with the plot. Subsequently, I have bought the movie and with a 97% rating on Rotten Tomatoes I’m pretty sure I will love that too.

Give The Princess Bride a read. It is a hearty swashbuckling adventure that you are sure to enjoy.

The Princess Bride by William Goldman is available now.

5 thoughts on “Review: The Princess Bride by William Goldman

Leave a Reply

