Review: My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick

My Life Next DoorThe Blurb

If you love Morgan Matson, Stephanie Perkins and Rainbow Rowell, you’ll love this! Addictive, dreamy and contemporary YA romance at its very best!

My Life Next Door is the perfect guilty pleasure read with real emotional depth – and the first in three very collectable YA contemporary romances by Huntley Fitzpatrick coming in 2016.

The Garretts are everything the Reeds are not. Loud, numerous, messy, affectionate. And every day from her balcony perch, seventeen-year-old Samantha Reed wishes she was one of them…until one summer evening, Jase Garrett climbs the trellis to sit by her – and changes everything.

The Review

I’ve said it before and I still stand by it now. YA fiction is leading the way for storytelling. The latest in my YA love list is My Life Next Door – part Romeo and Juliet part Beauty and the Beast – it tells the story of Samantha Reed; the quintessential girl next door – gets good results in school, works hard, holds down part time jobs (yes plural). She appears to be perfect, but then having a mum who is running for political office leaves little room for rebellion.

However, Samantha goes and commits -what her mum considers to be – a cardinal sin. She falls for one of those Garretts. The Garretts are the amily next door and they are everything that the Reeds aren’t.

Throughout this story there are plenty of epic heart-in-mouth moments. For the last 100 pages I could feel my heart racing. I was so immersed in the Reed/Garrett world that I could barely breathe. My Life Next Door has moral dilemmas a plenty. At the barest of bones it is just a damn good story.

More importantly, Fitzpatrick has created a truly fantastic cast of characters. Samantha is so easy to relate too. Her classic teen problem of falling for someone whom her mum doesn’t agree with is a problem as old as time; Jase is the perfect fictional character to fall in love with; he is big hearted and sweet without being saccharine and then you have Tim. Tim is the classic underdog who comes good in the end. We like Tim.

Overall, My Life Next Door is one of the best YA fiction books that I have read in a while and I am eager to read the next two in the trilogy.

My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick is available now.

Follow Huntley Fitzpatrick (@HuntleyFitz) via Twitter.

4 Stars

Leave a Reply

