Review: The Neverending Story by Michael Ende

The Blurb

Unicorns, dragons, sprites, will-o’-the-wisps: the inhabitants of an enchanted world. And into this world – through the pages of an old book – ventures Bastian, a lonely boy of ten or twelve. But Fantastica is slowly decaying, its Childlike Empress dying. Only a real human being can set things right by giving the Empress a new name. Bastian takes up the challenge, and finds himself crossing the Swamps of Sadness and the Silver Mountains, meeting sorcerers and giants, bats and night-hobs, gnomes and racing snails, as he journeys bravely toward the Ivory Tower, Bastian’s quest is filled with all the wonders of myth and fairy tale. It is a fantasy adventure that will capture your heart – and recapture the magical dreams of childhood.

The Review

The Neverending Story by Michael Ende is one book that I read in the wrong order. By that I mean I watched the film before reading the book. To be fair, the movie came out when I was 2 and the book was a little to advanced for my tender reading age (I was still on picture books) however, and it pains me to say this – the movie is better.

Let me explain. About a third way into the book the movie ended. The makers of the movie stopped the Michael Ende version of The Neverending Story, changed a few things around and made the story movie ready. In my opinion, the film makers did the right thing. The rest of the book was tiresome and a dirge of nonsense that left me with a headache.

I am so disappointed. I absolutely love the movie and was hoping I would be even more impressed by the book. Sadly that wasn’t the case and now I feel like two days of my life have been wasted.

For those of you reading this, save your time and watch the film instead.

The Neverending Story by Michael Ende is available now.

One thought on “Review: The Neverending Story by Michael Ende

Leave a Reply

