Review: Just One Year by Gayle Forman

Just One YearThe Blurb

Twenty-four hours can change your life . . .

Allyson and Willem share one magical day together in Paris, before chance rips them apart.

The romantic, emotional companion to Just One Day, this is a story of the choices we make and the accidents life throws at us.

But is one day enough to find your fate?

The Review

I first met Willem and Lulu (Allyson) approximately two years ago. I was having an awful flare up with my chronic illness: I couldn’t stay awake; I had intense pain and all I couldn’t leave the house. One thing I could do was read. One book that helped me feel a little bit better was Just One Day by Gayle Forman. I swear, reading the story was what falling in love feels like. It was just gorgeous.

Two years later, I read the sequel Just One Year. Whereas Just One Day was told from Lulu’s perspective, in Just One Year we see how Willem felt after their one day together. When I read Just One Day, you could feel just how desperately that Lulu needed to know what had happened, why had Willem just left her? You felt the raw emotion drip off the page so intensely that it was heartbreaking. We have all been there, when someone rocks your world but then having the realisation that the little world in which you are both living is so very fragile; the slightest gust of wind can make everything fall apart. So it was somewhat relieving to known that Willem felt the same way. His search for Lulu also led to a search for self discovery and helped him mend a few emotional bridges.

I love a good love a good love story and one thing is for certain is that Gayle Forman knows how to write a good love story. You ache and yearn for these characters to find each other and complete one another. This is the kind of love story that makes you melt and gives you hope.

Read this series, read it now!

Just One Year by Gayle Forman is available now.

Follow Gayle Forman (@gayleforman) via Twitter.

4 Stars

3 thoughts on “Review: Just One Year by Gayle Forman

  1. Vishy says:

    I read ‘If I Stay’ when it came out and loved it. (Have you read that?) I haven’t read ‘Just One Day’ yet. Thanks for the review. Glad you liked it so much. Gayle Forman writes such beautiful love stories.

    • ljbentley27 says:

      I don’t think I have read If I Stay. I’ve read I Was Here which was good. You are right about Gayle Forman. She is definitely one of the best YA authors releasing books at the moment 🙂 x

Leave a Reply

