Review: Seven Letters from Paris by Samantha Verant

Seven Letters from ParisThe Blurb

Twenty years, seven letters, and one long-lost love of a lifetime

At age 40, Samantha Verant’s life is falling apart-she’s jobless, in debt, and feeling stuck… until she stumbles upon seven old love letters from Jean-Luc, the sexy Frenchman she’d met in Paris when she was 19. With a quick Google search, she finds him, and both are quick to realize that the passion they felt 20 years prior hasn’t faded with time and distance.

Samantha knows that jetting off to France to reconnect with a man that she only knew for one sun-drenched, passion-filled day is crazy-but it’s the kind of crazy she’s been waiting for her whole life.

The Review

Well, wow. Samantha Verant is living in her own romantic movie. Who manages to reconnect with a past love, whom lives in a whole other continent, after twenty years and have it all work out? This is exactly what happened for the author of Seven Letters from Paris. She lived the freaking fairy tale. I’m not going to lie, this is the fairy story I have always wanted to have…except for the living twenty years apart…but all the other stuff, I am totally on board with.

Strangely, I had recently read a very similar book (reviewed last week on LisaTalksAbout) by another writer. A memoir of someone in a loveless marriage who finds love – all with a Parisian connection, so I was a bit put out by that. Obviously, this is no one’s fault. It is just a freaky-deaky coincidence. I must admit that it did make me enjoy the book less. Not because Seven Letters from Paris isn’t good – it really is – but more from the fact that I felt I was reading another writer’s version of a story I had already read. Both books were memoirs. It couldn’t be helped.

Seven Letters from Paris is a great story for the hopeless romantic, those who have been scorned by love but still believe in the magic of love. This is the kind of book that gives the loveless hope. It is enjoyable and who doesn’t love a happy ending?

Give Seven Letters from Paris a read. It is well worth it.

Seven Letters from Paris: A Memoir by Samantha Verant is available now.

35 Stars

19 thoughts on “Review: Seven Letters from Paris by Samantha Verant

    • ljbentley27 says:

      Aww if I had a physical copy I would have offered to send it to you (I’m desperately culling my bookshelves) – it is quite cheap on Kindle usually 🙂 if you do read it then I hope you enjoy it 🙂 x x

      • millie schmidt says:

        Thanks!! It’s the thought that counts 🙂 Might end up being a kindle buy for me! I absolutely love true stories/biographies and love adding physical copies to my bookshelf! And Almost French happens to be one of my favourites, so I’m sure I’ll love this one 🙂

      • ljbentley27 says:

        Oooh I haven’t even heard of this one. I’m going to have to look it up. Thanks for the request. I have one coming up called My Paris Dream which looks good. I will let you know how it reads 🙂 x x

Leave a Reply

