After You by Jojo Moyes

The Blurb

Lou Clark has lots of questions.

Like how it is she’s ended up working in an airport bar, spending every shift watching other people jet off to new places.

Or why the flat she’s owned for a year still doesn’t feel like home.

Whether her close-knit family can forgive her for what she did eighteen months ago.

And will she ever get over the love of her life.

What Lou does know for certain is that something has to change.

Then, one night, it does.

But does the stranger on her doorstep hold the answers Lou is searching for – or just more questions?

Close the door and life continues: simple, ordered, safe.

Open it and she risks everything.

But Lou once made a promise to live. And if she’s going to keep it, she has to invite them in . . .

The Review

I was scared to read After You by Jojo Moyes, terrified even. You see, Me Before You was one of those books; one of those rare books that comes along and steals your heart. You would think that with the amount of books that I read that it would happen a lot but in reality it is still a really rare thing.

With Me Before You I spent the final 80 pages in an emotional ball covered with snot and tears – not a pretty image, I know – and even though it has been over three years since I read it I still don’t think that I am over the story of Will and Lou.

So, with some trepidation, I picked up After You and started reading and honestly, I was pleasantly surprised. I don’t know what I was expecting but somehow Jojo Moyes has managed to tell Louisa’s story post Will and still retain the dignity of their relationship. I think that was what I was most worried about. I didn’t want the beloved character of Will to just be forgotten about and Moyes managed to walk that thin line of staying respectful to what developed in Me Before You whilst showing that you can (and should) move on after a tragedy.

I loved the twists in the story and the introduction of new characters and how they were woven seamlessly into the narrative.

Overall, After You was an uplifting read that balanced the heartbreak and sadness of Me Before You.

After You by Jojo Moyes is available now.

Follow Jojo Moyes (@jojomoyes) on Twitter.

4 thoughts on “After You by Jojo Moyes

  1. AdoptaBookAUS says:

    I loved Me Before You and was a bit wary of picking up After you in case it ruined the story but now I’m planning to pick it up soon :). Lou is a fantastic character and I can’t wait to read what her life turns out like. Great review 😀

    • ljbentley27 says:

      Aww thanks. Don’t get me wrong it is no Me Before You but as a separate book it is pretty good. You should check out Jojo Moyes The Girl He Left Behind and Dani Atkins Our Song – both really good x

Leave a Reply

