Review: More Weird Things Customers Say in Bookshops by Jen Campbell

More Weird Things Customers Say in BookshopsTitle: More Weird Things Customers in Bookshops

Author: Jen Campbell

Pages: 121 Pages

The Blurb

Weird Things Customers Say in Bookshops was a Sunday Times bestseller, and could be found displayed on bookshop counters up and down the country. The response to the book from booksellers all over the world has been one of heartfelt agreement: it would appear that customers are saying bizarre things all over the place – from asking for books with photographs of Jesus in them, to hunting for the best horse owner’s manual that has a detailed chapter on unicorns.

Customer: I had such a crush on Captain Hook when I was younger. Do you think this means I have unresolved issues?

More Weird Things Customers Say in Bookshops has yet more tales from the antiquarian bookshop where Jen Campbell works, and includes a selection of ‘Weird Things…’ sent in from other booksellers across the world. The book is illustrated by the BAFTA winning Brothers McLeod.

The Review

Much like I say in my review of Jen Campbell’s Weird Things Customers Say in Bookshops, the sequel – More Weird Things Customers Say in Bookshops – is equally funny. The things that people say and comment on are hilarious. Campbell uses the same winning format; she exposes her own experiences as a bookseller and those of other people in the industry across the world.

It is charming and hilarious. There isn’t really more that I can say about it than that.

I genuinely hope that Jen Campbell continues writing more of the Weird Things series because it is such a tonic.

More Weird Things Customers Say in Bookshops by Jen Campbell is available now.

You can follow Jen Campbell (@aeroplanegirl) on Twitter.

14 thoughts on “Review: More Weird Things Customers Say in Bookshops by Jen Campbell

  1. Eve Messenger says:

    A book that is hilarious and centered around books? I must read it! That people asking for books containing photos of Jesus–I have no words. Asking for a horse maintenance book with a detailed chapter on unicorns breaks my heart. Because there aren’t any!

  2. Candia says:

    Thanks for following my posts.
    Alan Bennett related how a bookshop assistant replied, Is that ‘Geoffrey?’ when he asked for Chaucer’s ‘Canterbury Tales.’

  3. Janet MacLeod Trotter says:

    Hi Lisa, I’ve got a story as a customer about a bookseller! Several years ago when I moved to a new town I went into the local bookshop to introduce myself, thinking they would be interested in a new author. I took along one of my novels. The bookseller took it and looked at it as if I’d handed over something contaminated.
    ‘What sort of name is that?’ they cried in disdain.
    ‘Er – my name,’ I replied, rather baffled. I slunk out of the shop feeling two inches high!
    (So unusual as I’ve always found booksellers lovely and helpful!)

Leave a Reply

