Review: Our Song by Dani Atkins

Our SongThe Blurb

The stunning new emotional drama from ebook phenomenon Dani Atkins, author of Fractured – perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes and Dorothy Koomson.

This is the story of Ally and Charlotte, whose paths have intersected over the years though they’ve never really been close friends. Charlotte married Ally’s ex and first true love, David. Fate is about to bring them together one last, dramatic time and change their lives forever.

Full of Dani’s signature warmth and emotion, this is a gripping and emotional family drama. With breath-taking plot twists, Dani explores themes of serendipity, friendship and love. She fully engages the reader in the dilemmas faced by her characters. What would you do if your husband was the love of somebody else’s life? And when faced with an agonising decision, could you put the past behind you and do the right thing?

The Review

So I am book two into 2016 and I have a bit of a problem. The problem is, quite simply, this: I don’t think I am going to find another book this year that has touched me, moved me and broken me the way that Dani Atkins Our Song has. This book is wonderful.

Don’t get me wrong, Our Song is brutal. If you don’t like books that pull at your heartstrings, play on your emotions or leave you with puffy eyes then Our Song is not the book for you. However, if you like books that are in the same ilk as Me Before You, My Sister’s Keeper, One Day and A Walk to Remember then you must buy this book now.

Our Song will break you. Don’t say you haven’t been warned.

I really don’t want to say too much (or indeed anything) about the plot because this is the sort of book that you need to discover yourself, page by heartbreaking page.

With Our Song, Atkins shows all the mastery of a great storyteller; there are plot twists, suspense, love, jealous among many others and I spent the whole time reading it with my heart beating in my chest.

I was recommending it to friends before I had even finished. I was lost to the outside world; woe-be-tide anyone that disturbed me whilst I was reading it. Our song has this power. It is a rare power that less than a handful of books have ever held over me but it is definitely going to be the benchmark against which I judge all other books this year.

Our Song by Dani Atkins is available from January 28th 2016

A special thanks to Sara Jade Virtue at Books and the City for sending me a review copy of Our Song.

Follow Dani Atkins (@AtkinsDani) on Twitter.

5 Stars

Leave a Reply

