Review: Bossypants by Tina Fey

BossypantsThe Blurb

Once in a generation a woman comes along who changes everything. Tina Fey is not that woman, but she met that woman once and acted weird around her.

Before 30 Rock, Mean Girls and ‘Sarah Palin’, Tina Fey was just a young girl with a dream: a recurring stress dream that she was being chased through a local airport by her middle-school gym teacher.

She also had a dream that one day she would be a comedian on TV. She has seen both these dreams come true.

At last, Tina Fey’s story can be told. From her youthful days as a vicious nerd to her tour of duty on Saturday Night Live; from her passionately halfhearted pursuit of physical beauty to her life as a mother eating things off the floor; from her one-sided college romance to her nearly fatal honeymoon – from the beginning of this paragraph to this final sentence.

Tina Fey reveals all, and proves what we’ve all suspected: you’re no one until someone calls you bossy.

The Review

Memoirs are not really my thing. I dip in and out of them sporadically rather than being an avid reader. However, every once in a while I find an autobiography that really impresses me; Tin Fey’s Bossypants really impressed me.

With her inimitable sass, Fey walks you through key moments in her life flashing you a sardonic smile along the way. What is really great is that Fey peels back the layers of “celebrity” and lets you see the person behind it. She doesn’t do this with sad stories, tragic past and constant failures but by showing just how damn hard she worked to get to the level of success she is privy to.

It would be cheesy to say that her story is inspirational because to be honest we all want the lazy way to success – for it to just fall into our hands – but it is uplifting to see someone who seems so together saying that she is just human.

It is probably due to this level-headedness that makes Fey so likeable.

With her book Bossypants Fey adds another quiver to her bow of talent.

Bossypants by Tina Fey is available now.

Follow Tina Fey (@NotTinaFey) on Twitter.

4 Stars

5 thoughts on “Review: Bossypants by Tina Fey

  1. New England Nomad says:

    I read it also and I agree with what you wrote. I like how she could make humorous observations, particularly about sexism, while not seeming to be preachy.
    She’s one of my favorite comedians.

    • ljbentley27 says:

      I like Tina Fey. I read Amy Poelher’s too. It is interesting and funny. It is weird because I very rarely read biographies (not because I hate biographies or anything) and then I read these two and they were really good so I might have to read some more x x

      • New England Nomad says:

        I like reading other people’s reviews and interpretations of art, music and literature. It’s funny how two people can have such contrasting view points on the same thing. But, that was not the case with this book. I look forward to reading more.

  2. Chas says:

    I would like to thank you for the efforts
    you have put in writing this website. I really hope to view the same high-grade content
    from you in the future as well. In truth, your creative
    writing abilities has encouraged me to get my own, personal blog now 😉

Leave a Reply

