Review: Driving Home for Christmas by AL Michael

The Blurb

Megan McAllister is home for Christmas…whether she likes it or not!

Christmas is about family…and for Megan, family means two people: herself, and her daughter Skye. It doesn’t mean her parents who, ten years ago, saw her pregnancy as anything but a miracle. And it definitely doesn’t include her irresistible ex-boyfriend Lucas Bright.

So ‘Driving Home for Christmas’ has never been top of Megan’s festive playlist. But for Skye, she knows she needs to spend the holiday season with the people she’s left behind. She can do this. Even if the thought of meeting Lucas under the mistletoe still has her feeling like she’s drunk one-too-many Snowballs!

But somewhere between the hanging of stockings and the crackle of wrapping paper, Christmas starts to sparkle. And Megan begins to wonder if family could be bigger than her and Skye after all…

Pop the buck’s fizz, stoke the fire and prepare to giggle the festive season away with AL Michael!

The Review

Oh poor Megan McAllister. Megan is the black sheep of her family. The golden child who blew it all away by becoming a gymslip mum; extradited by her family, she has spent the last 11 years living in exile with her aunt. Yet at the wishes of said aunt, she finally returns home to her family in the little village where everyone knows everyone’s business. Needless to say, this may not be the merriest Christmas for Megan and her daughter Skye.

My initial reason for reading Driving Home for Christmas was that I had one more pre-Christmas review slot for my book blog that needed filling. I will admit, I didn’t read the blurb and I didn’t think to myself ‘Ooh, this sounds good.’ Reading Driving Home for Christmas, I realised what a serendipitous thing it was that I chose this very book to read because, dear reader, it is bloody fantastic.

I loved it!

It was a classic story of a young girl with so much hope and promise that ended up barefoot and pregnant whilst still a child herself. Yet, it was so much more. It was about success and growing up and about lost love and about mending fences. The story was so multifaceted that you couldn’t help but feel engrossed by the story line.

Furthermore, AL Michael has created a rather wonderful romantic lead; one that has you questioning ‘why weren’t the boys like that when I was in high school?’

Driving Home for Christmas is the third book that I have read that was written by AL Michael and I have enjoyed them all immensely. I’m grateful that I have found another author that I can trust to release a damn good book. Driving Home for Christmas was a wonderful read and the perfect book to end my Christmas feature.

Driving Home for Christmas by AL Michael is available now.

Follow AL Michael (@ALMichael_) on Twitter.

Leave a Reply

