Review: My True Love Gave to Me by Stephanie Perkins

My True Loe Gave to MeThe Blurb

A collection of joyful festive stories that will keep you warm during the cold winter months.

On the first day of Christmas, my true love gave to me…

This beautiful collection features twelve gorgeously romantic stories set during the festive period, by some of the most talented and exciting YA authors writing today. The stories are filled with the magic of first love and the magic of the holidays.

The Review

My True Love Gave to Me is a quirky and delightful book of short stories that are all set during Christmas. The set features some famous names such as David Levithan, Gayle Forman, Rainbow Rowell and Stephanie Perkins to name but a few.

The collection of shorts provides quick escapes that keep you entertained; however, the stand out short stories did leave you wanting more. In particular Rainbow Rowell’s Midnights, Angels in the Snow by Matt de la Pena, It’s a Yuletide Miracle, Charlie Brown by Stephanie Perkins, What the Hell Have You Done, Sophie Roth? by Gayle Forman and Star of Bethlehem by Ally Carter.

As much as some of the short stories were really engaging there were others by which I found myself bored.

Overall, I would recommend My True Love Gave to Me because this book will get you in the festive spirit.

My True Love Gave to Me by Stephanie Perkins is available now.

3 thoughts on “Review: My True Love Gave to Me by Stephanie Perkins

    • ljbentley27 says:

      Thanks Lekeisha. I enjoyed it for the most part. Some of the ore fantasy based stories were a little removed from my reading comfort zone but still fun to read. If you want a really great holiday read you should pick up Christmas at Lilac Cottage by Holly Martin. It is one of those lovely books that make you feel warm and fuzzy on the inside 🙂 x

Leave a Reply

