Review: A Merry Mistletoe Wedding by Judy Astley

A Merry Mistletoe ChristmasThe Blurb

It is almost a year since Sean and Thea met and it’s been a roller-coaster ride: they’re getting married on Christmas Day!

Neither Thea or Sean want a big fuss – a simple wedding, with Christmas lights and just a few sprigs of mistletoe for decoration is all they need. But before they know it, things begin to get complicated. Trying to manage a long-distance relationship in the build-up to their Christmas wedding is one thing, but as one challenge after another comes their way, the happy couple begin to wonder if they’ll ever make it down the aisle…

With unforgettable characters, charming romance and lots of laughter, A Merry Mistletoe Wedding

Is a gorgeous Christmas read – perfect for fans of Carole Matthews, Jenny Colgan, Lucy Diamond and Milly Johnson.

The Review

Aww. This is how I feel after reading A Merry Mistletoe Wedding. Judy Astley’s latest Christmas book has you revisiting past fictional friends as they embark on their nuptials.

We originally met Thea and Sean in It Must have Been the Mistletoe; in a slight comedy of errors, each thought the other one was gay and spent the short time together trying to suss each other out. One year later, all confusion forgotten and the pair are getting married. They plan to have a beach wedding on Christmas day – a slight oxymoron of sorts but who are we to argue with the bride.

However, things are not going according to plan; with stubborn family members, creepy exes and a lack of wedding dress things start to fall drastically apart. Can Thea and Sean hold it all together and make it down the aisle?

It really was a joy to find out what happened to the characters that I fell in love with a year ago. Astley has kept the things we love about the characters and followed through on the things we learned in the previous book. Thea is still a bit insecure having lost her baby and fiancé in the space of a few days – although she is happy she can’t help waiting for disaster to strike. Her fallibility is what makes her likeable. As readers, it is this that we relate to.

Astley has written the family dynamics to perfection. The wappy parents and three very unique siblings create quite the entertaining scenarios. As with It must Have Been the Mistletoe, A Merry Mistletoe Wedding makes you feel like you have been invited into the family home on Christmas day.

I would have liked to have seen more scenes of Sean and Thea together but maybe this could be done in a short story prequel to this novel.

A Merry Mistletoe Wedding is such a lovely winter read. Make sure you all get yourselves a copy.

A Merry Mistletoe Wedding by Judy Astley is available now.

Follow Judy Astley (@Judyastley) via Twitter.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s