Review: Love Locked by Tess Highcroft

Title: Love Locked

Author: Tess Highcroft

Pages: 106 Pages

The Blurb

It’s not how Jocelyn planned to fall in love.

In fact, Jocelyn isn’t looking for love at all. She has a good job, and a great apartment, in a city she loves: she’s happy.

But then she meets a (somewhat angry) stranger when she mistakenly locks her bike to his. Lucas is nothing at all like any guy Jocelyn’s ever dreamed of, but she can’t get him out of her mind from the moment she meets him.

Is it love? Or lust? Or could it be both together?

Love Locked follows Jocelyn and Lucas on a romantic romp filled with plenty of both love and lust.

**Contemporary Romance with mature content Recommended for 17+ due to mature language and adult situations.**

The Review

Ok, so I am a sucker for the concept of fixing a lock to a bridge with the one you love to symbolise forever love. I know that probably makes me a huge girl who likes fairies and unicorns. I’m not ashamed of it but I feel that you should know that this was the reason I chose to read Love Locked – the image on the cover made me want to read it. I judged the book by its cover, sue me!

Love Locked is about a girl called Jocelyn who falls pretty quickly for a guy called Lucas. They met when (for some strange reason) she decided to lock her bike around his and a lamppost. Yes, this was their meet cute. Like all love stories there was an obstacle stopping them from getting together there and then – that obstacle is Lucas’s girlfriend, Charlotte. The whole story revolves around Jocelyn and Lucas who keep bumping into each other thus making Jocelyn fall harder for Lucas. Like most romances, the things keeping them apart only get resolved near the end.

Love Locked is an interesting book to write about. I can’t say that I loved it because I didn’t swoon for the characters or scream at the book in frustration. I was kind of indifferent to it. I think the reason for this was because in the first few chapters the writing style was written in a very detached manner. Ergo, I felt very detached. I also think that some of the scenes of a sexual nature were unnecessary.

If you are looking for a quick read then Love Locked is definitely a good one to start with. It doesn’t gnaw away at you afterwards or leave you with a book hangover; if you want a book with more substance, then Love Locked is not for you. However, it is an entertaining book for the right audience.

Love Locked by Tess Highcroft is available now.

Love Locked

Leave a Reply

