Review: Never Never by Colleen Hoover and Tarryn Fisher

Title: Never Never

Author: Colleen Hoover and Tarryn Fisher

Pages: 159 Pages

The Blurb

Never Never, a novella series. Book one of three. Best friends since they could walk. In love since the age of fourteen. Complete strangers since this morning. He’ll do anything to remember. She’ll do anything to forget.

The Review

I read a lot of YA books. I work in a high school so I tend to read the YA fiction to vet them to see if they are appropriate for lower school but lately I have noticed a weird trend.  YA books seem to be focusing on the macabre; books about death and suicide or terminal illness. Don’t get me wrong, some of these stories are fantastic and extremely well written but it is all getting a bit…samey.

Therefore it is wonderfully refreshing to read a story like Never Never. You could have knocked me over with a feather once I realised what the storyline was. Basically, two teenagers – Charlie and Silas – have woken up with no memories. They don’t know who their friends are, they have no idea who their family are, nothing. All they know is that they will have to stick together to figure out who they are.

Pretty interesting, right?

If I am honest, I was worried. I get really frustrated with the Groundhog Day element that you sometimes get in stories about building memories or trying to figure stuff out. I was really impressed that neither Hoover or Fisher added this element to the first part of Never Never. I am still worried about parts two and three. However, I am also chomping at the bit to start reading them.

Seriously, Never Never is one of the best YA novella’s that I have read in a very long time.

Never Never: Part One by Colleen Hoover and Tarryn Fisher is available now.

Follow Colleen Hoover (@colleenhoover) and Tarryn Fisher (@Tarryn_Fisher) on Twitter.

Never Never

2 thoughts on “Review: Never Never by Colleen Hoover and Tarryn Fisher

Leave a Reply

