Only Ever Yours by Louise O’Neill

The Blurb

freida and isabel have been best friends their whole lives. Now, aged sixteen and in their final year at the School, they expect to be selected as companions – wives to wealthy and powerful men.

The alternative – life as a concubine – is too horrible to contemplate.

But as the intensity of the final year takes hold, the pressure to be perfect mounts. isabel starts to self-destruct, putting her beauty – her only asset – in peril.

And then into this sealed female environment, the boys arrive, eager to choose a bride.

freida must fight for her future – even if it means betraying the only friend, the only love, she has ever known…

The Review

I am struggling to write this review because I can’t quite work out how I feel about Only Ever Yours. On the one hand, it is truly terrifying. It is a sign of being well written in the fact that I was left feeling a little bit disturbed and violated after reading it. The dystopian utopia that O’Neill has created is fascinating but to imagine a society that lives with these rules is a bit of a mind melt.

O’Neill makes you question the importance that we place on looks and beauty; she also makes you realise how dependant you are on social media and also how we relish and immerse ourselves in the lives of celebrities and celebrity culture.

However, I have to admit, I read Only Ever Yours because I found the cover to be interesting. There is a reason for the old adage ‘Don’t judge a book by its cover’ but there is also a reason why people are paid mega bucks to design book covers. If you were to ask me if I liked Only Ever Yours I would have to say that I didn’t dislike it. However, it is not normally the type of story I would naturally pick up to read. It definitely has merit as a book because, as I have said, the concept is frightening but it was definitely not the kind of story I was expecting to read.

Only Ever Yours by Louise O’Neill is available now.

Follow Louise O’Neill (@oneilllo) on Twitter.

Only Ever Yours

Leave a Reply

