Review: My So-Called (Love) Life by AL Michael

The Blurb

Meet Tigerlily James: romance cynic, North Londoner and die-hard margarita fan.

Tigerlily James has been a member of the Young and Bitter Club ever since she was dumped on Valentine’s day. By her fiancé.

Surviving on a diet of cynicism and margarita-fuelled ‘Misery Dinners’ with her best friends, she’s become a romance free zone…and that’s the way she likes it. Until an invitation for The Ex’s wedding arrives. Suddenly in need of a plus one, Tig has little choice but to bin the takeaways, ditch the greying underwear collection…and start pretending to view the opposite sex as something other than target practise.

Then, she meets Ollie – ie. the perfect solution. No sex. No strings. Fake boyfriend. The only catch is that she has to pretend to be his girlfriend for three whole months.

Dating without the heartbreak: the best idea Tig’s ever had, right? Wrong!

The Review

I went through a phase of refusing to read romantic comedy books. I admit, I was embittered by being cruelly dumped that my bitter and twisted response was to cut off reading about the girl who gets the guy when at that time of my life was the complete opposite to my situation. You may be wondering why I am sharing this part of my past but I swear to you that I have a point. Basically, I became Tig. I had gone through something similar (nowhere near as bad as what Tig went through but enough to leave me cold and angry and in need of the feel good factor) and this, dear reader, is what is great about this book. Any girl that has had their heart cruelly broken will find this a great read.

Besides a storyline that is easy to empathise with the characters are truly loveable. You want Tig to come back to life and you want her and Ollie to make it. Apart from that, you also want someone to come into your life and sweep you off your feet with a series of romantic dates.

In a storyline that could very easily become cheesy AL Michael has managed to avoid that plot pitfall and created lively three dimensional characters with real world lives and real world problems…you know in a fictional format. What I am trying to say is that this book will fill you with the warm and fuzzies and you should add it to your ‘to be read’ pile straight away.

My So-Called (Love) Life has surpassed all of my previous reads of 2015 and has quickly taken the top spot. It is going to be a hard book to beat for my personal favourite therefore I bid all future reads good luck.

My So-Called (Love) Life by AL Michael is available now.

You can follow AL Michael (@ALMichael_) on Twitter.My So Called Love Life

Leave a Reply

