Review: Jill Mansell’s A-Z of Happiness by Jill Mansell

Title: Jill Mansell’s A-Z of Happiness

Author: Jill Mansell

Pages: 46 pages

The Blurb

In this delightful ebook, Jill Mansell gives readers an exclusive glimpse of her life as a writer. In Jill’s world there’s a bear (not a real one), lit up by fairy lights, with zillions of happy endings buzzing around, eating Chinese takeaway for breakfast, getting up late and tweeting A LOT. Oh, and there’s been an explosion in the glitter factory!

Recommended for all withdrawal symptoms from The Unpredictable Consequences of Love, and anticipation disorder for Three Amazing Things About You.

Includes A-Z of Happiness, A Day in the Life of an Easily Distracted Writer, Author Q&A- and the opening chapters of Three Amazing Things About You.

Not a novel – but a little happiness fix.

The Review

I’ve only ever read one of Jill Mansell’s books. It was called Rumour Has It and I remember reading it on a train coming home from my grandad’s house – the journey from Eastbourne to Liverpool is a long one. This may seem insignificant to you but I know a good book if I can remember where I was when I was reading it. And although I have only ever read one of Jill Mansell’s novels I do have a collection of her books which take up plenty of room on my bookshelves ready to be read one day.

I needed to read a book for the #ShortStorySaturday segment on my blog so I chose to read Jill Mansell’s A-Z of Happiness because let’s face it there is enough misery and dreariness in January so a book that guarantees happiness is already a winner in my eyes.

Jill Mansell’s A-Z of Happiness happens not to be a short story (I was fooled) but a non-fiction book of things that make Jill Mansell happy – sort of like Ronseal, it does what it says on the tin. And whilst it doesn’t quite fit the remit of ‘short story’ I am still going to include it here.

What I loved about this very little book (46 pages) is that it was utterly inspiring. I loved the section in which Jill Mansell describes her daily writing life and her Q and A was really entertaining. As an aspiring writer I enjoyed seeing how the other half (that being published writers) live.

Mansell’s A-Z of happiness has inspired a blog post (Wednesday, 4th February 2015) in which I will discuss my A-Z of happy things. It is so easy to slip into the moaning zone and grumbling about the bad things that go on daily. I choose the Jill Mansell way; I choose to find my happiness.

Jill Mansell’s A-Z of Happiness by Jill Mansell is available now.

You can follow Jill Mansell (@jillmansell) on Twitter.

Jill Mansell's A-Z of Happiness

Leave a Reply

