Review: The Life I Left Behind by Colette McBeth

The Blurb

I’m the only one who knows the secrets her friends have hidden, the mistakes the police have made. I’m the only one who can warn her she’s still in danger. I know exactly who attacked her. He’s the same man who killed me.

Six years ago Melody was attacked and left for dead. She survived by burying her memories, confident that her attacker was convicted and imprisoned. Then the body of another woman, Eve, is discovered.

The women were strangers. But Eve knew all about Melody’s life. She has left behind her story, the clues that will force Melody to confront her own lies. The clues that will put her life in danger all over again.

The Review

Before I start my review I would like to thank the folks over at Bookbridgr for enabling me to receive a copy of The Life I Left Behind. Thanks to you guys I have been on the edge of my seat for the past few days.

The Life I Left Behind by Colette McBeth was a risky read for me and I will admit it was the intriguing cover that drew me to the book ahead of the blurb (sorry). The reason that it was a risky read is because I am not really au fait with crime fiction. It has never been a genre that I have naturally embraced. After reading The Life I Left Behind I will be less reluctant in picking up books of this ilk.

I bloody loved it.

Admittedly, I will never make a detective as I literally had no idea who the culprit was. I suspected everyone. Frequently I would hear myself thinking “It’s definitely him, he did it” and “no way, she is the killer, you can just tell.” Yes, McBeth had me guessing until the very end. And I guess you can’t really ask for more when it comes to a mystery story.

I was hooked on this story from the very beginning, not just due to the cleverly woven plot line (which believe me is well thought out and brilliantly executed) but also by the characters. I loved the multi-perspective viewpoints, especially considering one the narrators was deceased. It all heightened the intensity of the story.

I know I said that crime fiction isn’t really my thing and that I would make a terrible detective, however, don’t let my novice status put you off – believe me when I say I know good fiction. If you are a seasoned mystery novel reader then I implore you to read The Life I Left Behind. It is well written and a completely compelling story.

The Life I Left Behind by Colette McBeth is available now.

You can follow Colette McBeth (@colettemcbeth) on Twitter.

The Life I Left Behind

Leave a Reply

