Review: The Year of Taking Chances by Lucy Diamond

The Blurb

It’s New Year’s Eve, and Gemma and Spencer Bailey are throwing a house party. There’s music, dancing, champagne and all their best friends under one roof. It’s going to be a night to remember.

Also at the party is Caitlin, who has returned to the village to pack up her much-missed mum’s house and to figure out what to do with her life; and Saffron, a PR executive who’s keeping a secret which no amount of spin can change. The three women bond over Gemma’s dodgy cocktails and fortune cookies, and vow to make this year their best one yet.

Bust as the following months unfold, Gemma, Saffron and Caitlin find themselves tested to their limits by shocking new developments. Family, love, work, home – all the things they’ve taken for granted – are thrown into disarray. Under pressure, they are each forced to rethink their lives and start over. But dare they take a chance on something new?

The Review

Firstly, let me just say a massive thank you to Becky Plunkett at Pan Macmillan for sending me a copy of The Year of Taking Chances to review.

Straight away let me say that I loved this book. There are plenty of reasons for me to gush over it: the compelling story, the likable characters, the easy comfortable narrative to name but a few but firstly I would like to say that having never read a book by Lucy Diamond before (I know, I hang my head in shame) I was unaware of what I was going to get. I am not one for overly gooey emotional storylines – don’t get me wrong I like a book to hit me between the eyes (and hopefully make me shed a tear) but I like a story to have backbone. And that is exactly what I got with The Year of Taking Chances.

My favourite thing about the novel has to be the friendship element. I loved how these three feisty women – Gemma, Caitlin and Saffron – formed a friendship and bond so quickly and how their lives became so interwoven. You often read in chick-lit (a term I hate to use because it has such negative connotations) of women who are helpless or in need of rescuing and yes at times those labels often apply to the three protagonists, however, it is their friendship that helps them stay on an even keel. They balance each other rather than falling back on their husbands or boyfriends.

Essentially, the novel is about these three women finding themselves and how change can be scary but with the right people surrounding you that you can make some positive changes in your life no matter how adverse and dire the situation may seem.

And with that in mind I shall no longer shy away from authors whom I have never tried before….and I might just try and consume Lucy Diamond’s back catalogue of work.

The Year of Taking Chances by Lucy Diamond is available now.

You can follow Lucy Diamond (@LDiamondAuthor) on Twitter, on Facebook (www.facebook.com/LucyDiamondAuthor) and check for regular updates on www.lucydiamond.co.uk.

The Year of Taking Chances

Leave a Reply

