Review: The Supreme Macaroni Company by Adriana Trigiani

Synopsis

When Valentine agrees to marry Gianluca on the roof of her New York home little does she realise just how much her life will change. As she faces the everyday problems of marriage, motherhood and being a business woman Valentine realises that the whole world does not revolve around her and her family.

Valentine learns the art of compromise, she learns that life is for living not for working and she also learns that there are more important things in life than being successful. But has she learnt all this too late?

Review

On Goodreads, Amazon and NetGalley I issued this book with a four star rating. I believe that it deserves this high rating because it is a beautifully told story which gives the reader an insight into the inner workings of marriage, an Italian immigrant lifestyle and a close family unit.

The storyline flowed well, you felt like you went on a journey with the characters. You became elated when they did, you became frustrated when they didn’t act the way you knew that they should and you hurt when they hurt.

It was good for all of these reasons and it is with these reasons that I encourage you to read this story and make up your own mind.

However, I can’t say that I fully connected with the book. I recognise that it is written really well but something just didn’t sit well with me. I wish I could pinpoint exactly what that was but I genuinely don’t have any particular reason for disliking it. So I don’t. Equally, I couldn’t give you a reason why I liked it either. It has left me feeling very indifferent.

Give it a go and let me know what you think.

The Supreme Macaroni Company by Adriana Trigiani is available now.

The Supreme Macaroni Company

One thought on “Review: The Supreme Macaroni Company by Adriana Trigiani

  1. Kris says:

    Hmmm, I wonder what exactly about the book caused you to not connect with it? That happens to me a lot as well. I think I just have unreasonably high standards for books and my expectations are raised even higher when books come along with solid ratings. I’ll have to look into this one!

    Also, I nominated you for the Liebster Award! You’ve got a great blog and I wanted to share the love ❤ https://plantsandpages.wordpress.com/2014/10/01/liebster-award/

Leave a Reply

