My Weekly TBR Pile: 29.09.14 – 05.10.14

This has been a very exciting book week. Oh yes, I am a very happy bunny for this is the week of my birth and good book things happened during this week.

As part of my birthday presents (which are still coming even though my birthday was Saturday) I received:

Apple and Rain by Sarah Crossen

How to be Parisian: Wherever You Are by Anne Berest, Audrey Diwan, Caroline de Maigret and Sophie Mas

But even more exciting is that I was one of the lucky ten people to receive a signed hardback first edition copy of Us by David Nicholls from the wonderful people at BookBridgr. Seriously, I squealed at the postman and then nearly wept with happiness.

Now I did manage to get through a few books this week but not all of them were for review. Some were just books I wanted to read:

Revelation Space by Alistair Reynolds (I have a new found respect for science fiction writers byt it still is not my favourite of genres)

Michael Jackson’s Dangerous by Susan Fast

Liar and Spy by Rebecca Stead

Who is Tom Ditto by Danny Wallace

Lily Does LA by Nichola Doherty

I am currently midway through The Supreme Macaroni Company by Adriana Trigiani. I’ve enjoyed all the books that I have read this week.

This week on my to-read list has to include Us by David Nicholls but the other books that are due for review are:

An American Duchess by Sharon Page (NetGalley Review) (382 pages)

Mademoiselle by Rhonda K Garelick (NetGalley Review) (608 pages)

The Wonder of All Things by Jason Mott (NetGalley Review) (304 pages)

A Pretty Mess: An Astonville Novel by Carla Caruso (NetGalley Review) (260 pages)

How to Climb the Eiffel Tower by Elizabeth Hein (NetGalley Review) (328 pages)

A Song for Ella Grey by David Almond (NetGalley Review) (293 pages)

1,411 QI Facts by John Lloyd, John Mitchinson and James Harin (NetGalley Review) (400 pages)

Ayoade on Ayoade by Richard Ayoade (NetGalley Review) (400 pages)

Let’s face it, I am probably not going to get through all of these but I will, as always, give it a go.

This week will see a new festive feature make its debut on LisaTalksAbout.com. Since there are only thirteen weeks until Christmas (thus making it twelve weeks until Christmas) I plan to review a seasonal book each week. Keep your eyes peeled this week for the list of books that will be read in this feature.

Anywho, I hope you all have an excellent book week.

L x x

Ps – I only managed to get my NetGalley review percentage up to 25.9% – that is only an increase of 0.7% – efforts must be doubled!

Leave a Reply

