Lisa Talks About…Turning 31

A little over a week ago I was asked for identification in my local shop. I had gone in to pick up a bottle of wine for my mum as a little thank you for just being awesome. When at the till I had to whip out my provisional license (no, I still cannot drive) and offer the photographic evidence of my age. As the title of this blog piece states, I indeed am above legal drinking age.

I cannot tell you how immeasurably happy I feel when I get ID’d.

It is not that I feel old and it is not that I look old or indeed my age. I like to believe that I am young of spirit. Pretty hippy-dippy but hey, I’m going with that.

So, why blog about turning 31? It isn’t a milestone birthday nor is it something most people want to celebrate…especially when they realise that the next big birthday is 40. However, I felt that I have been through a lot this year and it is time to celebrate.

The thought came to me when my mother came home from work quite teary eyed. She told me that she was thinking about the fact that my birthday was approaching and how she couldn’t have coped if I hadn’t made it to 31. Earlier in the year I became quite ill and whilst I am fine now it is all linked back to my chronic condition – Ulcerative Colitis. I told her to not be daft and that I am fine but you know how mothers’ do worry.

So instead of dwelling on the bad I am focusing on the good. The good things that have happened in this my 31st year in the great adventure we call life.

  • I can successfully travel to my boyfriend Matt’s house without questioning the route now. We do the long distance thing and the first however-many-times I travelled I would constantly be worried I was on the wrong train or platform. I know the route without thinking or worrying now and they makes me happy.
  • There is going to be a quick boyfriend theme – I’ll get them out the way so that people don’t vomit rainbows of happiness everywhere. This year Matt met the two most important people in my life – my mum and sister. He effortlessly charmed them and whilst there approval isn’t the most important thing to me I am happier knowing that they care about him because they like him not because they care about me enough to like him.
  • Ok and now for a huge sappy proclamation of love. I’m just thankful that I have such a brilliant man in my life. He makes me happy, not just for the big things that he does (which due to his generous nature he too often does) but for the little things like the cake and the picking the old toothpaste off my toothbrush. He really is amazing.
  • I’m thankful to the nurses and doctors and support staff in Aintree hospital who continue to look after me so well.
  • Finally, I am thankful to the book blogging community. I started writing reviews on a personal blog as a way to stave off the boredom whilst I was off recuperating. Through it I have become friends with some really lovely people. So for that I thank you all.

So yes, at 31 I can honestly say that I am happy. Long may it continue.

Happy birthday to me (and Avril Lavigne and Meatloaf) for tomorrow.

L  x

2 thoughts on “Lisa Talks About…Turning 31

Leave a Reply

