My Weekly TBR Pile: 22.09.14 – 28.09.14

Yes people, it is that time of the week when once again I go through the books that I have read, the ones I want to read and often times throw in a random thought for the week. So here it goes.

This week I managed to get through a few books. I read:

Playing With Matches by Suri Rosen

My Other Ex: True Stories of Losing and Leaving Friends by Jessica Smock, Stephanie Sprenger and Galit Breen

Poppy Does Paris by Nicola Doherty (Technically I read this last week but my review was posted 20.09.14)

Twitter Girl by Nic Tatano

Lily Does LA by Nicola Doherty (Review to be posted 27.09.14)

And I am currently reading:

Who is Tom Ditto? by Danny Wallace

So it has been a pretty good book week.

Besides reading I also took in my first ever book event (I know, I’ve been reviewing books for a while now and loving reading a hell of a lot longer than that, how I have I only just managed to attend an event?). I took fifteen school children to see Charlie Higson. He was promoting the sixth book in his zombie series. It was quite an interesting experience.

Also, I have been rather fortunate this week in the fact that I won some book prizes. I received Blackfin Sky by Kat Ellis from the lovely Rachel O’Laughlin (you should all check out her blog) and I won The Best of Me by Nicholas Sparks from the equally lovely Bronagh McAteer who used my blog comment in another of her posts.

All in all, it has been a not too shabby week for Lisa.

Now, time for a confession; I have been naughty. Well not too naughty really but I have broken a promise that I made to myself. I work in a school which is stacked with a beautiful library. I had promised myself I wouldn’t borrow any books from it this year. After being back at work for only three weeks I have broken said promise. I have loaned the following books:

Birdsong by Sebastian Faulks

Liar & Spy by Rebecca Stead

Love at Second Sight by Cathy Hopkins

The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender by Leslye Walton

The Future of Us by Jay Asher and Carolyn Mackler

Tease by Amanda Maciel

Revolution by Jennifer Donnelly

On the plus side I have managed to pull my NetGalley percentage up to 25.2%. A whole 3.4% higher than it was last week. Kudos to me. However, it does lead me to my next question (any help from Boook Bloggers would be appreciated here), if you review a book but you don’t want to post it for a few days do you still pass the information on to NetGalley straight away and inform them of when your review will be posted or do you not inform them until the post is live? It is something that has always been a mystery to me.

Anywho, here are the books that I intend to read this week:

Michael Jackson’s Dangerous by Susan Fast (NetGalley Review) (168 pages)

The Supreme Macaroni Company by Adriana Trigiani (NetGalley Review) (435 pages)

The Poet’s Wife by Rebecca Stonehill (NetGalley Review) (302 pages)

And once again I plan to read

The Dead Wife’s Handbook by Hannah Beckerman

Keep your eyes peeled over the next few weeks for my new feature “12 Weeks of Christmas” in which I will be reviewing a Christmas based book every Thursday to get me in the festive mood.

As always here are a few fabulous people’s blogs for you to check out. Besides the aforementioned Bronagh and Rachel, make sure you visit Matt Phil Carver, Clare over at A Book and Tea and award winning Blogger Sophie at Reviewed The Book.

Happy reading people.

L x

4 thoughts on “My Weekly TBR Pile: 22.09.14 – 28.09.14

  1. Sophie says:

    Oh – thanks for the mention lovely 🙂

    I always wait until my review is on my blog before I feedback on Netgalley, but I have noticed in Netgalley emails from Penguin and Quercus recently that they say to leave them your blog name/link and date the review will be published there if it’s not up already so maybe you could do that…

    • ljbentley27 says:

      Ooh thanks, I’m still unsure what the etiquette is. I know they won’t yell at me or anything, it is just a bit of a general wonderment.

      I think more than anything I am just trying to get my NetGalley percentage rate up. It has become my Everest.

      Also you are welcome for the mention. I’m tryna spread the blog loving karma 🙂 x x

    • ljbentley27 says:

      I’ve been trying to read it for ages. It just always gets put on the back burner. I think I need to devise a system of reading a review book and then reading a personal one.

      We have to just face facts. There are too many books out there. I want to read them all! x x

Leave a Reply

