Short Story Saturday: What Is It?

What Is Short Story Saturday?

Short Story Saturday is a new feature on my blog. Every Saturday I will post a review of a short story. Why am I doing this, you may (or may not) ask? Well the reasons are as follows.

1) Currently residing on my kindle are over 300 short stories and I don’t give them nearly enough attention.

2) My kindle only has 26mbs left available so I am trying to avoid the heartbreaking decision of which books to delete and hide in the archive section by getting through a lot of short stories.

And finally,

3) I am not a fan of the short story. I know this sounds strange considering how many I have. I think that the short story is a bit of a let-down in the sense that you just begin to fall in love with a character or a storyline and bam the story ends. I would much rather have a meaty, heavy, wrist-breaking tome than a flimsy few pages. However, I am hoping that if I read enough of them I will change my mind and begin to fall in love with the art of the short story.

The Rules

There aren’t many rules to Short Story Saturday. The only obvious one being that the story has to be smaller than your average book. I think I will set a page limit of 100 – 130. If it is any bigger than that then it does not qualify as a short story.

So there we have it, folks. The invention of Short Story Saturday.

Keep your eyes peeled for my first SSS review.

Leave a Reply

