My Weekly TBR Pile: 08.09.14 – 14.09.14

As expected, this week did not go as well as I had planned reading wise. Sure I read some, but life somehow took over; what with starting back at work and the Grandrentals visit I didn’t make it through as many books as I would have liked.

This week I read/reviewed:

Boy21 by Matthew Quick

Chelsea Bird by Virginia Ironside

The History of Rock ‘N’ Roll in Ten Songs by Greil Marcus (Review to be posted 09.09.14)

These Days Are Ours by Michelle Haimoff (Review to be posted 11.09.14)

What also didn’t help is that this week I read two books that I just didn’t like. I hate writing bad reviews and I will never openly attack a writer but I will be honest as to why I didn’t like it. Clare over at A Book and Tea and I had this conversation this weekend. How do you write a review about a book that you really don’t connect with? Is it worse when it is a self published book which shows some very fundamental flaws or is it worse when it has been published in the traditional sense? When you can’t help but feel that some of the things that have bothered you should have been picked up, filtered through and sorted before publication? It is definitely a thinker.

Ultimately, all reviews of books are subjective though so one person’s literary classic is another person’s book for the bin. It is all just personal taste and opinion.

Anywho, this week’s book list is as follows.

Who is Tom Ditto? by Danny Wallace – 372 pages (NetGalley)

Joni Mitchell by Malka Marom – 304 pages (NetGalley)

Playing with Matches by Suri Rosen – 248 pages (NetGalley)

Station Eleven by Emily St John Mandel – 353 pages (NetGalley)

Love Me or Leave Me by Claudia Carrol – 400 pages (NetGalley)

Delicious! by Ruth Reichl – 401 pages (NetGalley)

The Dead Wife’s Handbook by Hannah Beckerman (From my 100 Books to read list)

I also really want to read Belzhar by Meg Wolitzer – I was a bit naughty and bought a review copy off eBay. I just couldn’t wait until next year.

It does seem like a lot of books but I am going to give it a whirl. I am determined to get by NetGalley percentage rate up.

Anyway, I hope you all have a good reading week and please keep an eye out for some book related blog posts that will be posted over the next few weeks. As always, keep an eye out for some pretty cool blogger type peoples – Matt Phil Carver and the lovely Clare who I mentioned before.

L x x

Leave a Reply

