Review: Jim Henson’s Labyrinth by ACH Smith and Brian Froud

Synopsis

After having yet another argument with her stepmother over babysitting duties, Sarah appeals to the goblin king to take away her younger brother Toby. When this actually happens Sarah starts a quest to retrieve her younger sibling and she only has thirteen hours to make her way to the centre of the labyrinth to confront Jareth, the Goblin King.

Review

Ok, so if – like me – you are a child of the 80s then Labyrinth will have been a firm favourite of yours. It most definitely was one of my favourites (to the point where I have the soundtrack on CD and vinyl and the DVD and film posters and the T-Shirt and a weird crush on David Bowie) so when I saw that a book was going to be released of the story I will admit my inner geek went into overdrive. This occasionally happens, especially when I find random memorabilia from movies that I love.

I bought a copy of the book in a moment of proud madness – well technically I Pre-Ordered it from Amazon. I had just had a root canal after 30 years of avoiding the dentist and felt that I had been a brave little toaster and deserved a treat. And boy was this book a treat.

It was strange reading a story that I have loved for such a long time. The characters’ were exactly how they were in the movies but what is good about the book is that you get a vision of the unedited movie. Deleted scenes take place in the book that obviously didn’t make it to the actual movie. What I did find is that some of the descriptive narrative read like extra detailing in a script.

This isn’t necessarily a bad thing because if you have seen the movie you can see just how accurate that the movie makers got it.

Overall, this is a sumptuous book for the lovers of the film. Now, having finished the book I am off to watch the movie. Dance, Magic Dance….

Jim Henson’s Labyrinth by ACH Smith and Brian Froud is available now.
labyrinth

Leave a Reply

