Review: Yes, Chef! by Lisa Joy

Becca Stone is stuck in a rut. She is approaching thirty, single and in a mind numbingly boring job. So when the chance for a promotion comes up she grabs the opportunity with both hands.

Suddenly her life starts to fall into place, she meets the man of her dreams and her new job role as PA to a difficult celebrity chef is challenging her in ways she didn’t think possible. Is it all too good to be true?

As quickly as things fall into place Becca’s life begins to fall apart. Will she manage to be the same old Becca when everything in her life is changing so suddenly?

I am a big fan of chick-lit. I went through a phase of not being able to read it because I found some of the storylines tired and clichéd. So for a while I simply stopped. I changed genre and after a few months I was back on track with good old comfortable reliable chick lit.

Comfortable and reliable. Those are the two words that I would use to describe Yes, Chef! It is not that the book isn’t good. It has some really entertaining parts. However, it was the comfort of knowing exactly what was going to happen that got me through the narrative. The reliable tale of a girl who will eventually get the guy even though she won’t realise that he is the one even though he has been there in front of her face this whole time is one as old as time. It was just a tad clichéd.

I personally just felt that at times it came across a little disjointed. The storyline had potential but it didn’t flow seamlessly. It jumped from different time periods using quick recaps to fill in the missing time which, for me, read awkwardly. Also, the narrative voice seemed to be unsure; at times the novel read like it was trying to replicate a voice from Bridget Jones and then at other times it dropped this tone altogether. It left me befuddled.

The latter half of Yes, Chef! was better than the beginning part. To begin with I did find Becca Stone difficult to like. She was self-involved and whiny. In this sense, you can see the development of the character because by the end of the novel I actually quite liked her but I didn’t want to keep reading to find out what happened next to Becca. I didn’t root for the characters as much as I have done with other books in this oeuvre.

The sad thing is that I genuinely do think that the book has potential to be better than it is. However, the book as a whole just wasn’t for me.

Yes, Chef! by Lisa Joy is available from the 14th July 2014

yes chef

Leave a Reply

